The process of establishment of the School of Postgraduate Studies of the University commenced on Monday, 23rd November, 2009 at the 39th regular meeting of the Senate. This was followed by the resource evaluation by the National University Commission in November, 2011.The result and approval to run the under listed programme was communicated to the University with effect from the 2011/2012 academic session. When the University Senate approved its establishment, Prof. J. O. Olusanya was appointed the pioneer Dean of the School while Mr. E. I. Ogundare was appointed Secretary. The incumbent Dean, the Sub-Dean and Secretary of the School are Prof. J.O. Olusanya, Dr (Mrs.) A.O. Oyebanjo and Mr. Sarafadeen A. Adebisi respectively.

Presently, the University runs postgraduate programmes in all the Colleges except College of Social and Management Sciences (COSMAS).