The School of Postgraduate Studies (SPGS) is one of the major academic Units of the University. It came into existence during the tenure of the second Vice-Chancellor, Professor Olusegun Awonusi. The establishment process started at the 39th regular meeting of the Senate held on Monday, 23rd November, 2009 with the setting up of the underlisted Committees to prepare grounds for the take-off of the School:



Designing of SPGS Application Forms Committee

SPGS Curriculum Committee

SPGS Prospectus Committee



After the approval by the University Senate, Late Prof. B. O. Ayeni, the former Dean of College of Science and Information Technology (COSIT)was appointed as the Chairman, Committee on Postgraduate Studies.  The University submitted the necessary documents and paid the appropriate fees to the National Universities Commission (NUC), this led to a Resources Assessment Visit by the officials of the National Universities Commission (NUC) on Tuesday, 29th November, and Wednesday 30th November, 2011.



The National Universities Commission at its 352nd meeting held on Thursday, 15th March 2012 approved the establishment of some postgraduate programmes effective from 2011/2012 academic session.


The School started with 11 programmes and admitted students for M.Ed, MBA ,M,Sc  and PGDE  spread across the four Colleges in 2011/2012 academic session ,details of which were as follows:

COHUM-(20 students), COSIT- (72 students), COSMAS-(44 students), COAEVOT (141 students).


In 2018, another Resource Evaluation visit by the National Universities Commission (NUC) officials led to the approval of seven (07) new M.Ed. programmes which took off in 2018/2019 academic session.


The academic programmes of the  School expanded exponentially with the approval of the commencement of M.A, ( 05 Programmes), M.Sc. ( 08 Programmes) and Ph.D. (33 Programmes), in  April  2019, after a panel of experts  paid a resource evaluation visit to the University, in order to reassess the human and materials resources  of the School.


as of today, the following are the approved academic programmes of the School.

From its inception, the underlisted persons have served the School in different capacities during the periods indicated below. 


  1. DEAN
  2. Prof. J. O. Olusanya 2011 – 2012
  3. Prof. Segun Ogunsaju 2012 – 2015
  4. Prof. J. O. Olusanya             2015 -2018
  5. Prof. M. A. Ogundipe              2018 to date


  2. Dr. O. A. Oyebanjo             2013 – 2016
  3. Dr. A.A. Mako             2017 till date




  1. Mr. E. I. Ogundare 2011
  2. Mrs. A. A. Adeleye 2011
  3. Mr. O. O. Fasina 2011 – 2013
  4. Mr. S. A. Adebisi 2013 – 2016
  5. Dr. Femi Kayode 2016 - 2017
  6. Mr. Ademola Adesanya 2017 – 2018
  7. Mr. Francis. O. Odutuga             2018 – to date